Konza Prairie News

KNZ LTER Investigator, Alice Boyle, awarded grant

KNZ LTER Investigator, Alice Boyle was awarded $542,060 to study population changes in Kansas birds.

Two Faculty Positions in Ecology at Kansas State University

The Division of Biology at Kansas State University is seeking two new faculty colleagues with expertise that will complement a productive and diverse ecology group and, most importantly, participate fully as a core investigator in the highly collaborative NSF-funded Konza Prairie Long-Term Ecological Research program. Specific details on search criteria, deadlines, and application instructions...

Recent Baer article featured in LTER Science Update

A recent article published in BioScience, entitled "Advancing Theories of Ecosystem Development through Long-Term Ecological Research", was featured in the latest edition of LTER Science Update. Konza LTER investigator, Sara Baer, is one of the article's authors.

Blair named director of KPBS

John Blair, university distinguished professor of biology, has been named the director of Kansas State University's Konza Prairie Biological Station. Blair follows John Briggs, who retired.

KNZ LTER grad student, Emily Wedel's article featured in Science Snapshots

Emily Wedel, a KSU graduate student in the Hartnett lab, writes about how African grasses shield themselves from drought.

Recent Nippert lab activities featured by The Prairie Ecologist

Nippert lab grad students, Seton Bachle and Marissa Zaricor, recently conducted research at the Platte River Prairies.

After the Burn - Making Art Out of Grassland Fires

Erin Weirsma, Associate Professor of Art at Kansas State University, uses the charred remains from prescribed burns at the Konza Prairie Biological Station to create unique one-of-a-kind art pieces.

Williams and Boyle publication featured in LTER News

A recent publication entitled, "Patterns and correlates of within-season breeding dispersal: A common strategy in a declining grassland songbird" was featured in LTER News.

Welti and Joern publication featured in LTER Science Update

A recent publication entitled "Fire and grazing modulate the structure and resistance of plant-floral visitor networks in a tallgrass prairie" is featured in the March edition of the LTER Science Update.

Rosemary Ramundo retires

The Division of Biology and the Konza Prairie Long-Term Ecological Research program announce the retirement of Rosemary Ramundo, LTER analytical lab supervisor.